Whitney board ousted

Millages defeated


ARENAC COUNTY — Almost all the incumbents on the Whitney Township board all went down in defeat to their challengers on Election Day Nov. 6.

Supervisor Frances Semenick lost to challenger Donald Becker 263 to 300, while Clerk Linda Kauffman lost to Kimberly Anderson 269 to 294. In the race for the two trustee seats, John Gordon and John Talaga lost their re-election bids to Betty Mann and Marie Piotrowski, with vote totals of 255, 197, 308 and 298, respectively.

Treasurer Cindy Bodner faced a write-in challenger, and the results of that race were not known at press time. The same was true of write-in campaigns for the 5th District county commissioner seat, the Sterling treasurer office, and all other write-ins.

Incumbent Deep River Township Clerk Karlia Kroczaleski-Raymond was also unable to best her challenger Ann Marie Borushko, losing to her 451 to 563. Carol Peistrack also won the race for Deep River’s new treasurer, defeating Casey McBride-Ex 510 to 485.

Craig Potts lost to Matthew Stawowy and incumbent JoAnn Swartz in the race for Deep River’s two trustee seats, coming in with 452 votes to Stawowy’s 588 and Swartz’s 564.

In Arenac Township’s race for the two trustee seats, incumbent Jack Daniels won re-election, while newcomer Allen Osier took the other trustee seat, with vote totals of 242 and 244, respectively. Joan Morrow lost her bid for a trustee seat with only 125 votes.

The Au Gres Township trustee race was also decided by a wide margin, as Lane Urban and Gerald Willett won their seats with votes of 314 and 326. Challenger Connie Ostrander was left out in the cold with only 239 votes.

The race for Arenac County sheriff was competitive until midway through the night, when incumbent Jim Mosciski was able to pull ahead of challenger Gary Foco, winning with 4,416 to 3,347 votes.

The race for the county road commissioner was not decided until the very end of the night, with Lewis Ostrander narrowly winning his bid for re-election against challenger Olen Swartz. Ostrander had 3,659 votes to Swartz’s 3,604.

In local millage races, Standish’s bid for a police millage failed by more than 100 votes, as only 210 people supported the millage and 335 opposed it. The Arenac and Deep River township road millage proposals also failed to garner much support, as Deep River’s failed with 422 yes votes to 553 no votes, and Arenac’s lost with 158 yes votes and 246 no.

Arenac voters also supported Joel Johnson’s run for re-election as representative of Michigan’s 97th State House District. Johnson defeated challenger Chris Breznau by more than 1,000 votes in Arenac County, winning 4,332 to Breznau’s 3,075.

Arenac County voters split their ticket in other state and national races. Dan Kildee won the county in his bid for the 5th Congressional District to become a U.S. representative, defeating his next closest rival, Jim Slezak, 3,917 to 3,041 in the county.

Meanwhile, incumbent Senator Debbie Stabenow was supported overwhelmingly by Arenac County voters, defeating her primary challenger Pete Hoekstra within the county. She won with 4,409 voters approving her bid for a third term, while Hoekstra took home 2,939 votes.

At the top of the ticket, Republican challenger Mitt Romney was the favorite in Arenac County for the presidential election, garnering 4,054 votes to incumbent President Barack Obama’s 3,669. Obama went on to win Michigan’s electoral votes, however.

Arenac County voters also voted no on all the statewide ballot proposals once all the final results were tallied. Most lost by large margins, though proposal 6, which would require voter approval for any new international infrastructure, failed by less than 100 votes in the end, with 3,761 approving it and 3,865 voting no.


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.