Township and city races set for Nov. 6 ballot


ARENAC COUNTY — The 12 townships, three villages, and three cities in Arenac County will have local positions on the ballot alongside county, state, and federal races on Nov. 6, with races in Arenac, Au Gres, Clayton, Deep River, Standish and Whitney townships being contested.

Township positions such as supervisor, clerk, treasurer, and two trustee positions are open in all townships, while village residents must select a new village council. None of the cities in Arenac County have council elections, but their ballots will include county commissioner races, as will the township and village ballots.

In addition to the candidates who will appear normally on the ballot, there are several write in candidates who have filed for the November election.

Among the open seats for the Arenac County commissioners, four are running unopposed in their districts. On the Democratic ticket, Robert Luce is running unopposed for the district 1 seat, Virginia Zygiel is running unopposed for district 2, Mike Snyder is unopposed for district 3, and Jeff Trombley is unopposed for district 4. All are incumbents.

Republican Dave Munson is running against two write-in candidates, Jim Hergott and incumbent Joe Sancimino, for the district 5 seat. The winner of that race will be seated alongside the other commissioners after the election.

Adams Township

All the races in Adams Township are uncontested. Among the Republican party, Daniel Fisk is running for township supervisor, while Sally Mrozinski is running for clerk. Republican Lisa Mehls is running for treasurer, while Republican Kevin McTaggart and Democrat Theodore Scheid are both running for the two trustee seats. There are no write-in candidates.

Arenac Township

Supervisor James Daly, a Democrat, is unopposed in seeking another term in the position, as is Clerk Cindy Halamar. Republican Debra Rice is running for treasurer, while three candidates are running for the two trustee seats: Democrat Jack Daniels, independent Joan Morrow, and Republican Allen Osier. There are no write-in candidates.

Au Gres Township

Independent Chester Pawlaczyk is running unopposed for the position of township supervisor, while Democrat Michael Oxley is running for reelection for the clerk position, and Republican Josephine Corey is running for treasurer.

There are three people running for the two positions of trustee: Connie Ostrander is running as a Republican, while incumbents Lane Urban and Gerald Willett are running on the Democratic ticket. There are no write-in candidates.

Clayton Township

Raymond Daniels, Republican, is running unopposed for the supervisor position, while incumbent clerk Ronald Klamerus, Republican, is running unopposed for reelection. Republican Treasurer Shirley Burtch has a write-in opponent, Heidi Bentley, for her job, while Republicans Byron Fogarsi and Victor Daniels Jr. are both running for the two trustee seats.

Deep River Township

Nearly every position in Deep River is going to be contested on the November ballot; Democratic incumbent Supervisor Robert Budz is the only person without an opponent. Clerk Karlia Kroczaleski-Raymond, Republican, is facing Ann Marie Borushko, Democrat, in her bid for reelection, while the treasurer race features two fresh faces in a bid for the position: Republican Casey McBride-Ex and Democrat Carol Peistrack are each competing for the spot.

In the trustee race, Republican Matthew Stawowy competes against Democrats Craig Potts and incumbent JoAnn Swartz for the two available seats. There are no write-in candidates.

Lincoln Township

There are no contested races in Lincoln Township, and all of those running are incumbents seeking reelection. Supervisor David Hertzberg, Republican, Clerk Ardith Demo, Democrat, Treasurer Judy Bell, Democrat, and Trustees Noreen Walter and Marcella Ruszala, both Democrats, are all on track to return to the table.

Mason Township

Mason Township features no contested races in November. Republican Mark Heideman is running unopposed for the supervisor seat, while incumbents Treasurer Shelly Everitt and Clerk Darlene Janish, both Democrats, are seeking reelection. Randy Gates, Republican, and Paul Phelan, Democrat, round out the races as they compete for the two trustee seats. There are no write-in candidates.

Moffatt Township

Moffatt residents will find nothing but familiar faces on the ballot Nov. 6. Supervisor and Republican Lee Chard is running for reelection, as is Democratic Clerk Kim Spencer and Treasurer Jody Wilga. Republican Jack Dunn and Democrat Leonard Mezey Jr. are running for their two trustee seats again, and Patrick Jedrzejczyk is running unopposed for constable. There are no write-in candidates.

Sims Township

There are no opposed races on the Sims Township ballot, as the all-Republican board candidates seek office. Robert Quackenbush is running for supervisor, while incumbent Wanda Boley seeks reelection as clerk. Grace Pichan is running for treasurer, and incumbent Janis Howard and outgoing Supervisor Rodney Francis are each seeking the two trustee seats. There are no write-in candidates.

Standish Township

While most of the races in Standish Township are uncontested, voters will choose between two people running for supervisor: Republican Robert North faces off against Democrat Brandon Dickhausen for the open supervisor seat. Incumbent Clerk Dale Raymond, Democrat, is running unopposed for reelection, and Sue Kohn, Democrat, is aiming for the treasurer position. Democrat Wayne Reetz and Republican Ronald Schwab round out the ballot as they seek the two trustee seats. There are no write-in candidates.

Turner Township

The only people appearing on the Turner Township ballot are incumbents seeking another term in office. Herbert Keeley is running for supervisor, Cathy Brooks is running for clerk, and Denise Gates is running for treasurer, and all of them are running as Republicans. Joseph Hollenbrook is running as a Republican for one trustee seat, while Bill Kiernicki is running as a Democrat for the other. There are no write-in candidates.

Whitney Township

Every race in Whitney Township is being contested in November. Incumbent Supervisor Francis Semenick is running as a Republican for reelection, but faces opposition from independent Donald Becker Jr. Clerk Linda Kauffman is also seeking reelection while running as a Republican, and is facing independent challenger Kimberly Anderson for the position.

Republican Cindy Bodner is running for the treasurer seat against write-in challenger and incumbent Noreen Pendred, while four people compete for two trustee seats. Republicans incumbents John Gordon and John Talaga are running to retain their seats against two independent challengers, Betty Mann and Marie Piotrowski.


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.