Republican wins bring change to Arenac County



ARENAC COUNTY — The Republican Party was able to win the majority of races for this year’s election.

Republican Joel Johnson will be the new 97th District State Representative after defeating Democrat Mark Lightfoot and Libertarian Brandon Dickhausen, winning all four counties.

In Arenac County Johnson received 2,877 votes, Lightfoot had 1,894 votes and Dickhausen had 550 votes.

Johnson won Clare County with 5,777 votes, Lightfoot had 3,179 votes and Dickhausen finished with 267 votes.

Gladwin County reported that Johnson received 5,272 votes; Lightfoot had 3,236 votes, and Dickhausen received 269 votes.

Johnson also won Bay County, receiving 2,893 votes, Lightfoot had 2,343 votes, and Dickhausen had 306 votes.

All five Arenac County Board of Commissioners seats were voted on, but only one of the seats was contested.

In District No. 4, Omer resident Glen Rice, a Republican, was defeated by Standish resident Jeff Trombley, a Democrat.

The other four commissioner candidates that ran unopposed were: incumbent Robert A. Luce in District No. 1, Virginia M. Zygiel in District No. 2, incumbent Michael Snyder in District No. 3, and incumbent Joseph A. Sancimino in District No. 5.


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.