Primary election set

Election set for August 3rd.


STANDISH — Tuesday, March 11 was the filing deadline for the Aug. 3 Arenac County primary ballot.

Voters will have a chance to pick who will represent their party in the upcoming general election, which will see many county seats up for the vote including five county commission seats, and one county road commissioner seat, along with several delegate positions.

The county road commissioner six-year term seat will be one of the most fought for spots with two Republicans vying for a chance to run against the one Democrat in the race.

Running in the Republican primary will be Kenneth A. Stawowy and Olen Swartz, while Raymond Gulvas will be representing the Democrats.

The most highly contested race in the county commissioners election is in district 4 with three contestants looking to represent Standish Township, Arenac Township, and the city of Omer.

Glen Rice will be the only Republican in this race, while Jeff Trombley and Ronald E. Branda are the two Democrats fighting to run for the seat.

So far, districts 1, 3 and 4 only have one person in the running for those seats.

In district 1, Democrat Robert A. Luce is running unopposed, while Michael Snyder is doing the same for district 3, and Democrat Joseph Sancimino is running for district 5.

District 2 does not have any registered candidates, as incumbent Ray Daniels withdrew his name from the vote.

County commissioner seats are two-year terms.

In the race for Arenac County precinct delegates, Whitney Township has the most candidates as Barbara R. Penney and Christopher C. Penny Sr. compete to be the precinct delegate.

Rita L. Lundgren is running as a Republican for the Clayton Township delegate, while Dennis Stawowy will be running as a Republican for the Deep River Township District 1-1 Commissioner District 1 delegate.

Edwin Dutsky is running as a Republican for the delegate seat for Moffatt Township, and Branda is going for the Standish Township delegate as a Democrat, while Ricky R. Rockwell is registered as a Republican for Turner Township.

All other 11 districts including the cities of AuGres, Omer and Standish have no candidates registered at this time for delegates.

More information on election guidelines including guidelines for write-in candidates can be found at


Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.