February 13, 2016

Primary Election Results


ARENAC COUNTY — Voters came out to vote for the August Primary elections on Tuesday.

This November the County Commissioner District 4 race will feature Republican Glenn Rice, who received 151 votes, and Democrat, Jeff Trombley, who received 122 votes, defeating Ronald Branda who received 82 votes. District 1 seat is unopposed for Democrat Robert A. Luce, as was the District 5 seat for Democrat Joe Sancimino. The District 2 seat featured only write-in candidates.

In the race for the Arenac County Road Commissioner, Democrat Raymond Gulvas ran unopposed, while in the Republican primary, Kenneth Stawowy defeated Olen Swartz 875 to 647.

The Standish-Sterling School Board Partial Term seat was won by Annette Ratajczak, who received 515 votes. She defeated Sarah Brandenburg, who had 325 votes, and Allen Schmidt who received 494.

Ronald Bartlett and Melanie Sobieray both ran unopposed for two other partial term seats.

The Standish-Sterling School Millage passed 819 to 760.

The Arenac County Fire Millage also passed by a vote of 455 to 174.

In the race for the State Represenative for the 97th District the winning Democrat was Mark Alan Lightfoot, who received 1,771 votes between Arenac, Bay, Clare, and Gladwin Counties. He defeated Tim Barnum, who received 1,566 votes, and Jason Liptow who had 704 votes. Lightfoot will face Joel Johnson who won the Republican nomination. Johnson had 3,641 votes. He defeated candidates Kim Emmons, 1,685 votes, George Gilmore, 1,424 votes, Tom Kerrins, 364 votes, and Roy Morrison 705 votes.

Two of four millage proposals for Arenac County passed.

The Emergency 911 millage passed 1,701 to 855 while the ambulance renewal passed 1,617 to 802. The county pro 1 parks millage was voted down 1,554 to 988 and the county fixed millage renewal was voted down 1,408 to 958.

In Moffatt Township two proposals were on the ballot.

Proposal 1 is a four-year millage increase for suppression and control of the mosquito through 2013. This millage passed by a vote of 177 to 88.

Proposal 2, an increase in the road millage, for the purpose of maintaining, repairing, ditching, and constructing roads for four years through 2013 passed by a single vote 132 to 131.

In Sims Township Janis J. Howard was elected to trustee over two write-in candidates. She received 98 votes.

Copyright © 2016, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.