February 9, 2016

County prepares for 2012 elections

By Kevin Bunch
Staff Writer | news@arenacindependent.com

ARENAC COUNTY — The filing deadline for positions within the Arenac County government is approaching, and County Clerk Rick Rockwell said he has been fielding questions regarding what offices and positions are open in the 2012 elections.

At the county level, a probate judge position is open, as well as a county commissioner position, road commissioner, county sheriff, clerk, register of deeds, drain commissioner, prosecuter, and treasurer.

For someone running for the Probate Court Judge position within Arenac County, currently held by Richard Vollbach, Jr. the filing deadline is May 1 at 4 p.m., Rockwell said, at a Secretary of State office.

All other countywide elections have a filing deadline May 15 at 4 p.m., Rockwell said, with the clerk’s office. Someone running for a county commissioner position needs between three and 10 signature of county residents. All other county positions require between 20 and 50 signatures, or alternately fill out the proper paperwork at the county building. Rockwell suggested checking with the clerk’s office to find out what filing is required for specific positions.

The road commissioner and probate judge positions are for six-year term, and the county commissioner position is a two-year term. All other county positions are for four-year terms. All of these positions will be up for election in November.

Arenac County’s township residents will also be casting votes for officials. According to Rockwell, the township supervisor, clerk, treasurer, and trustee positions will be up for grabs in November throughout the county. The deadline to file for any of those positions is May 15 at 4 p.m. with the local township clerk for the November election.

Rockwell added that on the state level, all state representatives would be up for reelection.

For the election coming up on May 8, Rockwell said AuGres residents will vote on two city council members and to renew the police millage.

In addition, residents of Whitney Township who fall within the Tawas school district will vote on a millage to support the Iosco County regional education service authority, or RESA. Residents of Mason and Clayton Township who fall within the Whittemore-Prescott school district will vote on the Iosco County RESA millage.

Rockwell said people interested in running in the upcoming elections should contact the relevant clerk’s office.


Copyright © 2016, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.