Arenac voters support library, road patrol, SSC millages

Davis, Mikkola, Mosciski, and Broughton win contested races


ARENAC COUNTY — Arenac County voters headed to the polls on Aug. 7 to vote in the primary election, passing countywide millages and giving county incumbents facing primary challenges the nod to go on to November.

The Arenac County Sheriff’s Department’s road patrol millage renewal passed easily, with 1,729 people approving it, and another 901 voting no. The millage is a 1-mill, four-year renewal.

The Iosco-Arenac District Library millage renewal also passed in Arenac County, with 1,313 yes votes and 968 no votes. The 0.49-mill, 10-year millage will help support the library district in the county.

Citizens of the Standish-Sterling school district approved a renewal of its operating millage, which provides 18 mills collected on non-homestead property for 10 years. The millage passed with 959 for it, and another 662 against.

In the Republican primary race for the U.S. Senate seat in Arenac County, Pete Hoekstra maintained a solid lead throughout the night, receiving 603 votes. Clark Durant received 450 votes, Gary Glenn received 97 votes, while Randy Hekman received 87 votes within the county.

In the race for the U.S. Representative for the fifth congressional district, Jim Slezak received 586 votes within the county, while 461 county residents voted for Tom Wassa.

The Democratic primary battle for the county drain commissioner saw incumbent Larry Davis pull ahead late in the evening, winning with a narrow 702 votes to challenger Jim Hergott’s 619 votes. Davis has no Republican challenger in November at this time.

In the Arenac County sheriff’s race on the Republican primary, incumbent Jim Mosciski handily defeated his primary challenger Bob Riley. Mosciski received 1,020 votes, while Riley received 353. Mosciski will go on to face Gary Foco for the sheriff’s position in November.

In the three-way Democratic primary race for register of deeds, Darlene Mikkola received more votes than her opponents combined, garnering 763 votes. Tim Campau received 320, while Joseph Sancimino received 266. Mikkola has no Republican challenger in November at this time.

In the Democratic race for prosecuting attorney, incumbent Curtis Broughton defeated his challenger Duane Hadley. Broughton received 963 votes, while Hadley had 416 voters supporting him. No Republicans have come forward to run against Mikkola in November for the position.

In the Republican primary race for Adams Township supervisor, incumbent Dena Hitz lost to challenger Daniel Fisk. Hitz had 26 votes, while Fisk received 57 votes. Fisk faces no challengers in November at this time.

The Clayton Township trustee Republican primary race had three people competing for two seats. Incumbent Victor Daniels Jr. received 58 votes, while newcomer Byron Fogarasi also emerged victorious with 39. Incumbent Sandra Bowen received 27 votes, losing her seat. There are no Democratic challengers in November at this time.

Deep River Township Supervisor Robert Budz defeated challenger Dawn Duval in the Democratic primary race. Budz received 115 votes while Duval had 69. Budz has no challenger in November at this time.

In the Republican primary race for the open Mason Township supervisor seat, Mark Heideman defeated Daniel Wellman with 27 votes to Wellman’s 17. Heideman faces Lillian McReady in November for the position.

Robert Quackenbush soundly defeated his opponent Charles Harwood in the Republican primary race for Sims Township supervisor, with Quackenbush garnering 105 votes to Harwood’s 12. Both men ran as write-in candidates. Quackenbush has no challenger in November at this time.

In the Republican race for the two Sims Township trustee seats, incumbent Janis Howard and outgoing Supervisor Rod Francis emerged victorious, with Howard getting 106 votes and Francis receiving 95. Incumbent Carol Diffin lost after receiving only 58 votes. There are no Democratic challengers for the trustee seats at this time.

The proposed Arenac Township road repair millage narrowly failed, with 81 people voting no and 76 voting yes. The 1-mill millage would have raised money to repair and maintain roads.

Both millages on the Au Gres Township ballot passed, with the mosquito suppression millage renewal passing with 185 yes votes and 50 no votes, and the road ditching millage passing with 138 yes votes to 96 no votes. The mosquito millage is 1.5 mills for two years, while the ditching millage is 1 mill at four years.

The Clayton Township road maintenance millage renewal passed handily, with 74 people voting to continue with the 1-mill millage for another four years, and 36 people opposing it.

All three of the Sims Township millage renewals passed. The gypsy moth suppression millage received 191 yes votes and 57 no votes, while the mosquito suppression millage received 232 yes votes and 18 no votes. Both are 1-mill millages that run for four years.

The third Sims millage, for road repair and maintenance, was renewed with 162 yes votes and 86 no votes. It is a 0.5-mill millage that runs for four years.

Neighboring Whitney Township residents voted down a proposed road maintenance millage there, however, as it received 140 no votes and 72 yes votes.

In November, all three school boards and the three villages in Arenac County — Sterling, Turner, and Twining — have positions up for grabs.

People interested in running for village positions or for seats on the local school boards will need to file by August 14 at 4 p.m. In Sterling, Twining, and Turner villages, the positions for president, clerk, treasurer, and the two trustee seats are all up for grabs.

Interested people can file at Turner Township hall for Turner, Mason Township hall for Twining, and Deep River Township hall for Sterling.

Arenac Eastern and Standish-Sterling have two school board seats open in November, and Au Gres-Sims has three. Interested people can file at the county clerk office.



Please review our community guidelines before posting

Please keep comments on topic and appropriate for all ages. Remember that people of all ages read our website. Those that are not appropriate will be removed. Please read our full community guidelines before posting.

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Copyright © 2018, Sunrise Publishing. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.